Grad School Graduation Weekend

Hi friends!! Happy Saturday :).

I apologize if I’m a bit MIA this weekend. It’s my graduation weekend for graduate school! Even though I’m not technically graduating, I’m just walking, it’s still a big event because to me it symbolizes being done with academia!

All of my furniture and a bunch of clothing, shoes, and miscellaneous items were moved out of my apartment yesterday. It was so incredibly strange to walk back into the room I’ve basically been living in for 2 years and see it empty. I have a feeling there are going to be lots of tears when I leave to go home. As much as I’m ready to go home, it’s still so sad to leave the amazing friends I’ve made here and to close a chapter on a wonderful part of my life!

This weekend is basically going to be a whirlwind of seeing people and going out to eat. It kind of freaks me out a bit and I mentioned this so Tessa when we met the other night and she totally understood where I was coming from! I love eating out, but knowing that I’ll be doing it for a majority of my meals this weekend gives me some anxiety. That in itself is hard for me to admit sometimes because I would like to think that I’ve come a long way and wouldn’t still have those thoughts. But alas, I do. I know I can choose healthy items when I go out to eat, but for some reason I always gravitate toward more unhealthy ones. I feel like I “deserve” to treat myself. This weekend I just need to focus on how my body is feeling and go for the foods that sound good instead of whether or not I feel like I deserve them! Hopefully doing that will help me feel better :).

Anyway, my mom arrived with a couple of new clothing items for me yesterday! I am SO excited to wear them. One is a top from Express and the other is a fitted dress from Von Maur!

The shirt:

Source

Please tell me that I will look okay in this kind of top! I tried it on and really liked it but it’s not something that I would usually wear. I am long waisted and generally feel more comfortable in tops that are longer, but this is definitely shorter. Do you think it will look good on me?

The dress:

Source

This picture doesn’t do this dress justice. It’s SO cute on! I’ll have to take pictures for you :D. My mom did a great job – she always picks out awesome clothes for me!

Oh and I finished House Rules by Jodi Picoult! I really enjoyed this book and thought it was a well crafted story. Here is the synopsis from Good Reads:

When your son can’t look you in the eye…does that mean he’s guilty?

Jacob Hunt is a teen with Asperger’s syndrome. He’s hopeless at reading social cues or expressing himself well to others, though he is brilliant in many ways. But he has a special focus on one subject – forensic analysis. A police scanner in his room clues him in to crime scenes, and he’s always showing up and telling the cops what to do. And he’s usually right.

But when Jacob’s small hometown is rocked by a terrible murder, law enforcement comes to him. Jacob’s behaviors are hallmark Asperger’s, but they look a lot like guilt to the local police. Suddenly the Hunt family, who only want to fit in, are directly in the spotlight. For Jacob’s mother, Emma, it’s a brutal reminder of the intolerance and misunderstanding that always threaten her family. For his brother, Theo, it’s another indication why nothing is normal because of Jacob.

And over this small family, the soul-searing question looms: Did Jacob commit murder?

The only thing I didn’t really like about this book was the ending. I felt like it just ended without really concluding the story. I was left wanting more of an explanation. Other than that though, I would definitely recommend it! Especially to those that are interested in how Autism can impact a person and family- I feel like this was really well researched in that area!

Anyway, I hope you all have amazing weekends! I’ll be walking for graduation tomorrow and then driving home to Ohio on Monday!

Love you all ❤

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on May 19, 2012, in About Me, Body Image, Books, Mind, Reading, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. The clothes are super cute!! I definitely think they will look good on you. 🙂 I can’t wait to see pics! I hope you have an amazing weekend! Enjoy every moment!

  2. that top will look gorgeous and i LOVE that dress!!!! congrats on almost graduating and enjoy your weekend!! you DO deserve it!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Wow, I’ve gotta say that I am so impressed with your mom’s shopping skills! No offense to my mom, but whenever she picks out something for me on her own, it usually ends up looking like an outfit that came straight out of the 70’s haha. I think both of those would look great on you!

    And about the eating out thing– don’t feel bad about still having those kinds of feelings. Even though I am SO much more healed than I was a few months back, this past weekend when I was “vacationing” with my mom and eating out I had several mini panic attacks. You just need to remember that it’s only one weekend of your looong life, and nothing would change drastically because of it!

    Love ya girlie, and congrats on graduating!! Mine is coming up soon! (Except with my B.A., but shhhhh haha)

    • Haha yea, my mom has some great fashion sense…I love it! Ugh and I’m so glad you understand where I’m coming from! I definitely just need to keep reminding myself that it’s only a few days. And a B.A. is still something to be so proud of!! You have to remember I’m a bit older than you haha 😉

  4. Congrats on graduating!!! 😀 Oh, and can your mom come pick out clothes for me too?

  5. First, your momma has some serious style lady, I love that shirt, and you will definitely rock it! No need to worry about that at all, and the dress too, both wonderful!

    You are certainly allowed to feel anxious about eating out, and yes even after the immense progress you have made, it is soo okay too. I know i feel ‘guilty’ about having some disordered thoughts that are simply wrong and do nothing good for me, but it’s all part of the process of getting away from such thoughts! You will do just fine, and splurge when you think it’s worth it too, and of course, enjoy the company you are with and the exciting time this is! You are one accomplished lady Lindsay and congratulations 😀

    • Thank you so much Tessa! Love you girlie! And I’m so thankful that you know where I’m coming from and can offer support! Hope you’re having a great weekend ❤

  6. Congratulations, lindsay!!!!! Enjoy every moment 🙂

  7. your mom did a great job! i think that first top will look perfect on you. i know what you mean about being long waisted… i’m the same! if you feel uncomfortable though, you could always wear a white cami underneath? and i could totally see you in that dress too! good job mom!

    and most importantly, congratulations linds!! you should be so proud of yourself! 🙂

    • Oooo good idea with the white tank..I’ll have to keep that in mind! Thank you so much girlie! LOVE U!

  8. Congrats on graduating! That’s huge. I hope you enjoy the weekend & allow your self some treats. I know, harder said than done.

    Such cute clothes! I have the opposite problem. Tops are always super long on me. Can’t wait to see the pictures.

    Have a great time!

  9. I completely understand what you mean about being nervous going out to eat. It seems whenever I go out to eat I know I can get a healthy version, but that chicken alfredo just sounds SOOO much more delicious. Lately I’ve been avoiding going out to eat altogether and just cooking for myself at home. I save money and I know I’m eating things that are right for me! Have fun this weekend though, you deserve it! If you want that extra slice of cake, go for it. One weekend won’t make or break your health! 🙂

  10. Love the dress! Enjoy celebrating your graduation!

  11. I can relate to this, the next five days are all of that and more. I am the same way about still sticking with the safer restaurant offerings, it bothers me so much that I do that! good luck and I will be thinking of you!

  12. have a great weekend! enjoy the new clothes, yea mom!! and eating out a lot can be overwhelming but focus on the meaning, the people!

  13. I’m sooo excited for you!!! I would be jumping with joy if I was graduating! 😀

  14. Hey sweetheart! You will most definitely look amazing in that new top and dress! I really am looking forward to seeing pictures 😀 I love when my Mom picks out clothes for me. She does a great job, just like your Mom!

    I know what you mean about eating out several times, more than usual. I can totally relate to the anxiety, but I have experienced that the more you do it, the easier it gets. If I avoid restaurants for a while, the first time I eat out is very anxiety provoking. Think of me this week and think of all the nights I went out to eat in Barbados! Twice/day for an entire 9 days! AND I didn’t workout either.

    I really love you, girl. I have so much support to offer you! xoxo

    I am here for you

    • Woo hoo for mom’s with good style ;). Thank you so much for the love and support Meg!! I really appreciate it :D. Love u!! ❤

  15. Congratulations!!! Graduating is such a huge success, you should be so proud! I just got that book to read on my kindle! So excited, I love Jodi Picoult, have you read 19 minutes? It’s such a sad book, but really good. I completely understand the anxiety you feel with going out to eat meals, I don’t do it much and know it makes me pretty anxious, the more you do it the less those anxious feeling will appear. It is still hard, because of past situations, but I bet you will make the right decision when choosing options, its unfortunately part of the process of moving past on eating disorder. I absolutely adore that top and dress, loving the colours! Have an amazing weekend love, you deserve to have a great time!xo

    • I have read that!! And yes, it’s so good but also sad. Have an amazing weekend too pretty lady ❤

  16. Congrats on walking! Such a HUGE accomplishment!

    I have read most of Jody Picoult’s books and LOVE them. I really enjoyed House Rules and thought it was a very interesting insight into the world of autism. I didn’t mind the ending too much but I would have to go back and re-read it to remember all the details since I read it when it first came out.

    • Thank you SO much! Jodi Picoult is such a good writer isn’t she?! I need to read more of her books haha

  17. Adorable clothes choices! 🙂 The best accessory will be that diploma, though! Congrats!

  18. Congrats!! The shirt will look great and I love that dress! Hope you have a fun weekend

  19. Congrats, sweet girl! I hope you are able to enjoy your meals out and celebrate yourself! And the top and dress are both so so cute! I want! 🙂 I think that top will look awesome on you.

    Enjoy your time this weekend! XOXO

  20. CUTE clothes!! And CONGRATS 🙂 I am very excited for you!!! WAHOO!

    Have a lovely time out to meals–just live in the moment, eat your meals with excitement, and I promise it will be okay. xoxo!

  21. Congrats Lindsay!! I hope your weekend is filled with lots of JOY 🙂

    You’ll look awesome in that top – I am loving coral lately.

  22. Congratulations!! 🙂 I hope your fieldwork goes well!

  23. Congrats! I’m so excited for you!

  24. Congratulations! Hope you had a great graduation weekend!

  1. Pingback: Commencement and Graduation Eats

  2. Pingback: Memorial Day

Leave a Reply

