Commencement and Graduation Eats

Hi everyone!!

Thank you all so much for your congrats!!! I appreciate it so much :D.

We're ready for fieldwork!! At least I hope so haha

On Sunday, I attended the school-wide commencement ceremony and the ceremony for my department. The school-wide one, while hot since we were sitting directly in the sun with those long black gowns on, was really nice! The speaker was a man named Eric Greitens who has done some amazing things in his life including being a humanitary, a Navy SEAL, a Rhodes Scholar, and an author. His commencement address was amazing and very inspiring. He urged all of us graduates to pursue a life where we serve others, and that in doing so we will create a wonderful and meaningful adventure for ourselves.

I urge all of you to read his address here. I think it’s something that can apply to anyone!

Anyway, immediately following that was my department ceremony. It was really nice and intimate since there were only about 60 of us students! And even though I was technically only walking instead of graduating, it was still really symbolic of being done with my academic work :).

Kind of blurry, but you can see our Master's "hoods"

My dad and I!

My mom and I!

I can’t believe it’s done! Craziness! Actually this past weekend was pretty much craziness haha. I am so sorry for being pretty much absent from the blog world, but I’m back now!

On Friday all of my stuff was moved out of my apartment, so the rest of the weekend I was pretty much living out of a few suitcases and staying in my mom’s hotel room. As I predicted in Saturday’s post, this weekend consisted of a lot of meals eaten out and lots of desserts. I’m not going to lie and say that I felt totally comfortable about it because I didn’t. I had a few moments where I was freaking out a bit on the inside, but looking back on the weekend I realize that I don’t really regret eating anything that I did because it was all soooo incredibly delicious!

Let’s see, for starters I had my first cannoli from the famous Mike’s Pastry in The North End in Boston. It was to die for!

Peanut butter cannoli

I also had some really awesome dinners! Saturday evening my dad and I went to the Union Oyster House in downtown Boston and I had the swordfish special. Oh wow was it good. I haven’t had swordfish in ages and it didn’t disappoint!

On Sunday night I went to dinner with my mom and her boyfriend at Bin 26 Enoteca and after trying to decide on what I wanted (which was basically the whole menu) I finally chose the steak. I haven’t had red meat in a while either and once I heard the waitress say it was one of her favorite dishes I new I needed to have it. Again, this was another amazing meal!

I had some really tasty lunches too and a delicious dinner on Friday night, but silly me forgot to take pictures haha.

And finally, I am now back in Ohio! As happy as I am to be back home, I’m also really sad to have moved away from Boston and the great friends that I made there. It’s going to be so strange and incredibly sad not seeing the same girls almost every single day. Good thing technology helps us keep in touch these days right?

Yesterday was a long, long day. My mom and I made the long 13-hour drive home from Boston. Let’s just say that I am so glad that day is over haha. And after indulging over the weekend, not really exercising, and sitting in a car all day I’m ready for a good workout!

I hope you all have a great Tuesday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Body Image, Boston, Dessert, Dinner, Family, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. Congrats on this weekend! Is your fiance in Ohio with you now? I hope you guys have been reunited!!!

    • Thanks Chelsey! No, unfortunately he’s down in Florida finishing his graduate school program! But, I’ll be visiting him in a few weeks 🙂

  2. Congrats!!!

    I NEED that canoli! 🙂

  3. CONGRATS! My OT graduation ceremony is next week and its the same thing… basically its just symbolic of no more classes. I’ll take it! You should be very proud, great job! Now onto fieldwork 🙂

    • Thanks Megan!! Woot woot for graduation! And yes, now onto fieldwork…may we get through it with flying colors 😀

  4. Congratulations Lindsay, you look great, and I am loving the pictures with your fellow grads and mom and dad as well 🙂 I’m glad you were able to push through the potentially negative thoughts for the most part and enjoy some delicious food! IT looks like you made some truly great choices, and that is a part of life! Now I have only been to mikes once and I got a cannoli as well, holy mother of god was it delicious!! Good luck with settling in, unpacking and such 🙂

    • Thank you so much Tessa!! I’m glad you have experienced the Mike’s cannoli as well haha…that baby was one of the tastiest desserts I’ve ever had!

  5. Fun weekend!! 🙂 I love seeing the pics of you with your parents. Oh, and let’s be honest, I love seeing the pic of you with the cannoli, too! 😉

  6. I know I already said it, but congrats again! It’s just such a big accomplishment. 🙂 Oh, and it’s also totally worthy of pb cannoli. I like the sound of that!

  7. Congrats girl!!! Love the pics of you and your parents, they must be so proud 🙂

    And that swordfish, goodness gracious does that look delicious!

  8. Congratulations Lindsay! It’s such a big accomplishment and you should be super proud!

  9. Congratulations Lindsay, so happy for you! Here’s to the next stage in your life!

    By the way, that cannoli looks amazing.. Peanut Butter? Yum!

  10. that canoli looks to die for!!! congrats again girly!! 🙂 🙂

  11. Congrats again on graduating! That food all looks so great, and it’s good you got to spend that time with your parents — even in during a 13-hour car ride (congrats on surviving that as well 🙂 )

  12. congratulations linds!! yayyy! i’m so happy for you! just emailed you by the way. 😉

  13. You look a lot like your dad! I am so excited for you as you start this next journey in your life. Does Chris live in Ohio?

    All of that food looks amazing, and I want that pb canoli!!!

  14. CONGRATS!!! SO exciting 🙂 I know the feeling of wearing ‘the hood’, and ahhhhh it feels so nice! You rock, lady.

    And canolli sounds good! (esp if it were AB. haha)

  15. Congrats Lindsay! Good luck on your next adventure. So sad we didn’t get to meet up before you moved!

  16. Congratulations Lindsay!! Hope you made it safe to Ohio, we miss you already over here in Boston!! 🙂

  17. Looks like a great weekend!!! Congrats!! And that cannoli looks ridiculously delicious!

  18. Enjoy every moment of celebrating!! You deserve it!

  19. Welcome back to the midwest! 🙂

  20. Congrats again!

    I’ve never eaten a cannoli, but when I do, I want it to look like that one!! 🙂

  21. CONGRATS congrats CONGRATS!! AND that PB cannoli looks AMAZING!!!

  22. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    CONGRATS GIRL!!! You should be so proud of yourself! I wish you the best of luck! 🙂

  24. Congrats again!! That sounds like a super fun weekend! Your deserve that celebration for sure. I’ve never had cannoli, but that looks pretty darn tasty!

  25. Congratulations! I am absolutely dying over than cannoli.

  26. Congrats my sweetie!!!! So proud of you!!!!!!!!!! Happy to hear you enjoyed it all too 🙂 I love how there were only 60 of you students! That would be so personal! I love it!

    I haven’t ever seen a pb cannelloni before!? That’s awesome!!!

    Your meals look delicious and I am totally wanting swordfish now 😉 It is my all time fav fish!!!!!! Seriously I am so jealous!

    xoxo

    I was thinking of you a lot this weekend! Love you!

    • Thank you so much Meg!! You would love the cannoli :). And isn’t swordfish just so delicious?! I don’t know why it had been so long since I ate it haha. Love you too!!

  27. Congratulations!! That cannoli is to die for!

  28. Congratulations! What an exciting time in your life 🙂 Mmmm cannolis are SO GOOD!

  29. Congrats on the whole weekend Lindsay! 🙂 So awesome!!!And that cannoli- Oh my. I want it NOW!!! 🙂

  30. Congrats girl! I’m doing a happy dance for you right now!

  31. Congrats, Lindsay! This is so exciting – a new time and phase of life! And how fun to celebrate with that PB cannoli – never had one before and that looks delish. 🙂 Love the photo of you and your dad too – made me miss my own dad. 😀 Just wanted to say I’m really happy for you and excited for where God will lead next!

  32. CONGRATULATIONS!!! This is such an exciting time, I’m sure you have lots of fantastic things ahead of you 🙂 You look lovely and I’m glad you enjoyed it all!

    Your food looks delicious and it’s great that you were able to move past negative feelings and just enjoy the food! I’d love to try a cannoli it looks absolutely brilliant. I love a good steak too, I don’t eat it very often but if they’re cooked well they’re so good 🙂

    I hope you have a great week!

  33. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m just catching up and have to say– CONGRATULATIONS! It looks like you had a great ceremony, as well as some totally worthwhile eats 😉

Leave a Reply

