My First Wedding “Nightmare”

Happy Wednesday everyone! Wanna hear about what happened to me the other night?? Sure you do πŸ™‚

I had my first wedding “nightmare” or “bad dream” on Tuesday night. I find it slightly ironic that as soon as I move back home and know that wedding planning will start to resume I have a dream like this haha.Β Anyway, it wasn’t exactly a nightmare…but I’m sure that to any bride on the day of the wedding it would be!

Click for source

So, in my dream it was the actual day of the wedding.Β I was getting ready in some fancy schmancy hotel room. Like it had to be one of the nicest hotel rooms I’ve ever seen…I should’ve known I was dreaming! And I digress. I was getting ready for the wedding and somehow decided to hang out with Chris even though he shouldn’t be seeing me before the ceremony. I had my dress on at this point and was really upset that he wasn’t saying something about how I looked in it haha. I’m pretty sure we were watching tv too. Random, I know.

Then he left the hotel room to go get ready himself. That was when I looked in the mirror and realized that my dress had not been altered to fit me the way it should. Now, I guess this isn’t a huge deal, but you want your dress to be perfect and to fit perfect- at least that’s how I feel (and I’m sure most brides feel the same!). So naturally, I started freaking out. My dress didn’t look right and I felt like I was swimming in it.

In my dream I was freaking out and could only think about how bad my dress was going to look walking down the aisle and in my pictures. My mom and I finally decided to go to the alterations department in the hotel…because you know, that’s a normal thing for a hotel to have ;). I walked into alterations with my dress on and tears streaming down my eyes and basically begged the lady to fix it for my ceremony that was a couple hours away.

Click for source

She told me to take the dress off so she could look at it…and of course I was magically clothed in something else…and after what felt like an hour of waiting she shook her head and said she couldn’t do it. I think I started balling at this point in my dream. My mom just kept telling me it would be fine and that no one would notice that my dress didn’t really fit me.

Um yea, that idea didn’t sit with me. So we went back up to the hotel room and I told my mom that maybe she could help by fitting it together with safety pins. I’m pretty sure my actual dress would rip apart if safety pins were used on it haha. Anyway, when she told me she didn’t think that would work, I didn’t believe her. I actually started cutting up the inside of my dress so that it could be pulled tight and pinned together. Who the eff cuts of up their wedding dress hours before the ceremony?? Apparently the crazy dream version of me does haha. And that was when I woke up….basically in a panic because I had just cut up my wedding dress that didn’t fit me!

I cannot describe to you how relieved I was when I realized that it was only a dream, and that my dress hasn’t even come in yet, and that I have over a year to get it altered to fit just right :).

Please tell me that a) It’s normal to have bad/strange dreams about the wedding and b) That they aren’t going to continue or become a frequent thing. I don’t know if I can handle lots of dreams like that!

And now you are welcome to laugh at me all you want :). I hope you have a great Wednesday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Mind, Random, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. haha I kind of love that. I’m not sure if I had any weird wedding dreams when I was planning. What I do remember though is going to pick up my dress from the seamstress and realizing it smelled like smoke. THAT made me pissed.

  2. When I was dating my ex boyfriend, I used to have nightmares that it was our wedding day and it was literally 10 minutes before I had to walk down the aisle. Every single time I was like, WHAT AM I DOING?? I’M NOT READY FOR THIS! It was kind of interesting figuring out how I felt subconciously about marrying Paul at that time haha but these dreams are normal! Everyone worries about their dress not fitting, etc. and that comes through into dreamworld πŸ™‚

  3. I had a few dreams like that before we got married, but they were few and far between. I hope for your sake that you don’t have too many more!! I know they can be quite scary!! πŸ˜‰

  4. Wow, what a vivid dream! I haven’t had any wedding nightmares yet, but I wonder if I’m in for them haha. Also, when I saw the title of this post, I thought you had a problem with actual wedding planning, so I’m glad it was just a dream πŸ™‚

  5. Oh man I bet it was a MASSIVE relief to wake up from that vivid dream! Nightmares like that are never fun, especially when it’s about something so huge like a wedding!

  6. I haven’t had any bad dreams yet, but maybe it’s because I’ve been anxious in real life? Haha. The good thing is, you have plenty of time to work out all of the small details for your wedding!

  7. oh my gosh!! ok things like this definitely do NOT happen on wedding days so you have nothing to worry about!! what a funny/scary dream though… πŸ˜‰

  8. i was such a cooky bride. I didn’t care. I let my mom do all the planning. I just wanted to show up and get married. So no nightmares but i think that is totally normal! hehe

  9. Oh my goodness! At least you have plenty of time to make sure that doesn’t happen!!!

  10. this is TOTALLY normal! I’ve had a few dreams, well nightmares really, about stuff going “wrong” at the wedding. I usually just try to laugh it off and then make sure I prepare to avoid whatever that “wrong” thing was : )

  11. Silly girl! Your dress will be PERFECT! I will say that it’s much better to have dream wedding nightmares than actual wedding nightmares. My wedding dress was stolen the day I picked it up – it was a terrible, terrible situation. Obviously it all worked out in the end, but man it sucked! Who steals a wedding dress (for a person the size of twelve year-old….)???? Sorry for the rant. I can’t wait to see your dress!

    • Oh my goodness!!! That’s so crazy! I’m going to have to hear this whole story now btw. I’m so glad everything turned out ok!

  12. I was shocked to find out how common wedding nightmares are – I had my share for sure! πŸ™‚

  13. Haha! I definitely had my fair share of wedding-related nightmares. Fortunately none of them came true. πŸ˜‰ I think it’s safe to say this dream of yours will not become a reality. πŸ™‚

  14. Ahhh! I would definitely have freaked out too. I’m sure it’s normal because you are nervous, but thankfully it’s only a dream!

  15. Hahaah you are adorable! Dreams are so weird, because when you wake up your like I should have known that was a dream, but as your dreaming it just seems so darn real! It must have been a relief to wake up and realize it was a dream though! I’m sure wedding nightmares are quite typical though, not that I’d have a clue. I think it’s safe to say this one won’t come true πŸ™‚

    • Haha thank you! You’re right! Dreams are so incredibly weird!! And yes, it was a huge relief when I woke up haha

  16. Oh wow. I definitely chuckled at this, b/c it is SOOO true. All brides-to-be have nightmares. ANd guess what?! None of mine came true, and the day was pretty close to perfect. SO if that helps, cheers πŸ™‚

  17. Oh my goodness, that is so funny!!! I’m sure it’s really normal to have dreams like that! πŸ™‚ I know my married girlfriends have told me about waking up in the middle of the night to try out how they might want to do their hair for their wedding or random things like that!

  18. Ahhhh a nightmare indeed!! Pretty funny Lindsay haha, I needed a laugh today and this was helpful in that regard πŸ™‚ It seems pretty normal to me to have dreams/nightmares like that… shows that you are nervous, but of course excited and it’s all part of the process, or so I would imagine haha

  19. AH that is a nightmare! No advice here since I plan on staying unmarried for a long time πŸ˜‰

  20. Oh goodness! Well at least it was crazy enough for you to actually worry about in real life. πŸ™‚

  21. TOTALLY normal!! (and funny) πŸ˜‰

  22. My dream last night seemed so real also! I woke up and had to ask my boyfriend if it really happened!

  23. This is totally normal! I dreamed that I couldn’t find my father when it was time to walk down the aisle or that everyone was drunk and not concerned about getting to the wedding and all the mothers were blaming me. Hang in there! It will all be incredible (and go by so fast!)

  24. Awww girl! This made me laugh! You are going to be so beautiful on your wedding day. I never had bad dreams, but my dress came in 4 sizes too big and only 2 weeks until my wedding! Luckily, I had a good seamstress who practically remade the dress. It didn’t fit exactly like it was supposed to, but no one noticed but me!

  25. I just got married last week- but I never had any dreams like that!

    What I did do, up until I was married, was wake up obsessing about the details of the wedding! I dreamed about decorating the space, and how all the details had to be, then I would wake up thinking “I have to call the vendor about this!!” It didn’t really ever stop until the wedding was over!! Hope they are few and far between for you!

  26. I’ve had the same dream about my dress not fitting me. I actually carried on with my wedding in a terrible dress! I’ve had it a couple of times now.

Leave a Reply

