Opening Up

Thank you thank you thank you for all of your wonderful comments on my blogiversary post!!! You guys certainly know how to make a girl feel really good about herself and her blog :D. If you haven’t yet, make sure you enter my giveaway! It ends Thursday night at 9pm.

It was also really interesting to hear about some of the things that you guys would like to see more of! The big things included – more workouts, more healthy recipes, and just “day in the life” type posts! I promise that as soon as my life calms down a bit I’ll get back to posting more recipes. I’ve been a huge slacker in that area. And it made me happy to know that you guys would like to see more workouts because I was worried that maybe I posted them too often!

Also, Lindsay said she would like for me to open up a bit more about my faith and I thought I would do that a bit today! If you remember, the same LindsayΒ sent meΒ a book back in April called Beautiful Outlaw.

Reading that book really gave me the desire to love Jesus. You see, I wasn’t super big on faith and religion before. I believed in God, but that was basically the extent of it. Back in high school I was religious, although I think I did it more to feel like I belonged. Some of the people I hung out with claimed to be these big “Christians” but they constantly judged others and acted like they were righteous. They often made me feel like a bad person and some of the things that happened just really turned me off of everything.

But then, Lindsay had always talked about God being greater than religion and I just couldn’t quite grasp what she meant. I always thought they had to come together and couldn’t be separate. This book really helped me understand that it’s ultimately about loving God and honoring Him. It’s not about being a part of a religious organization and feeling guilty because of things they are preaching about. For some reason, that was all I needed to have my heart opened up.

I’ve also had guidance from a few other lovely ladies (Kristen, Natalie, Brittany, and Ashley) who are really helping me realize this and who are helping me on this new “journey” (I guess you could call it) to have a relationship with God. And, what makes it even better is that I am really happy and excited about it! I honestly feel more content and fulfilled now. For me, that’s huge!

I recently saw on Brittany’s blog that she was doing the Soul Detox online Bible Study. The hashtag #shereadstruth has been all over twitter and instagram lately.

This has been going on for a while so I’m way behind the actual Bible Study with a group of people, but I’ve decided to start doing it!

And so, this is where I am currently at with my faith :).

I hope you all have a great Wednesday!!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in About Me, Bloggers, Mind. Bookmark the permalink. 64 Comments.

  1. Yay! πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you, my friend. I am honored that I get to be a small part of this journey with you! Love ya!!

  2. This is amazing girl!!! I’m so happy you have such a wonderful relationship with the Lord, He truly is the most amazing Creator. Can you imagine life without Him?!

    That book sounds incredible too, must find! πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a blessed and beautiful day, my fellow sister in Christ!

    • Thank you girlie!! You should definitely read the book…it was amazing :). Hope you have a blessed day too pretty lady ❀

  3. So so happy for you! Yes, a relationship with God with Jesus is not religion! It’s what he desires for us. You are lifted up in prayer by amazing women. Keep the faith coming, share your heart, trust GOD, HE IS GOOD!

  4. I am definitely buying that book the next time I’m at a book store. I think sometimes we get caught up in the day to day stresses that we don’t take enough time to reflect on what’s really important, our faith. I definitely need to take more time to step back and appreciate God and Jesus and spend more time focusing on my faith and less time focusing on the little things.

  5. Good for you! It’s so amazing how these bloggers are able to touch others and lead others to Christ. Such a blessing. I’ve been using the bible app on my phone and it has been so awesome.

  6. I love that you’re exploring your faith, Lindsay! I know I get so much strength from having God in my life.

    • Thanks Julie! It’s amazing how much strength I’m already discovering from having Him in my life now πŸ™‚

  7. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Hi Lindsay, I think it’s Awesome that you are looking deeper into your faith! I personally think it is important to have some sort of faith (no matter what religion or belief) because it really helps me when times get tough. Can’t wait to hear your updates πŸ™‚

  8. Congrats on started Soul Detox. Not sure if you caught my post, but I am doing it too!

    xoxo

  9. Thanks for sharing this Lindsay! I have been following your blog for a while (wish I had been able to meet you when you were still in Boston!) and I love to see you open up about this part of your life. I love anything by John and Staci Eldredge but I haven’t read Beautiful Outlaw yet. You might also like Philip Yancey. He has several books but my favorites are The Jesus I Never Knew and Finding God in Unexpected Places. Looking forward to reading more about this part of you πŸ™‚

    • Ooo thank you! I’ll have to check those out :). I so wish I had been able to meet you too! That would have been great!

  10. What an awesome feeling to be content and fulfilled! I can’t imagine how stressful and lonely my life would be with out Christ! I think we all need to be reminded every once in a while that it’s not about religion, it’s only about loving and honoring God. Great post! πŸ™‚

  11. Thank you for sharing about your faith. I spent many years struggling with my faith. I found salvation as a teenager but grew disillusioned with it because it seemed the members of my church youth group were doing “bad” things but getting rewarded – they had boyfriends, were popular, etc. I was trying desperately to be “good” and was single, not very popular. When I went to college, I decided that I would live how I wanted to – rather than how God was calling me to live. And I did for 8 years – but it was 8 years where I was quite miserable in my heart. I finally grew up enough to realized that I could not define my faith by how others lived, and I could not be “good” enough to earn Christ’s love. I just had to accept that He loved me and that He desires a relationship with me.

    I too am doing the Soul Detox Reading plan and it has been an eye opening and heart changing experience. I would love to hear your thoughts/insights as you read thru the study.

    • I’m so glad to hear that you are enjoying the reading plan! And it’s always amazing to know that He loves us and wants a relationship with us πŸ˜€

  12. linds this just makes my heart so happy! πŸ™‚ it’s easy to get caught up in the religious side of things when what really matters is that relationship with God. i’m so proud of you. love you!

    • Thank you so much Ash!! You’ve been so helpful and wonderful as I learn about all of this :). Love u too!

  13. I love love love this post! I always say I’m not religious, but I am faithful meaning I believe in God wholeheartedly, pray everyday (mulitple times) and love talking about him, but I’m not tied down to a church or anything like that. I focus on Him through my life. Great post!

  14. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    YEYY!!! LOVE THIS POST! Honestly Lindsay, I am SO blessed to have met you in this blogging community and am thrilled that God has brought you into my path! You are such a beautiful person, inside and out and I can’t wait for our meetup when you come down! (Yep, it’s happening πŸ˜‰ )

    • I’m SOOOO blessed to have met you too Britt!! Thank you so much girl. You are beautiful inside and out as well <3. Your continued support has been amazing <3. And YAY for a meetup! I seriously cannot wait!!

  15. This post makes my heart SIIIIIIIIING!!! I am so happy that just one little book has changed the directions of your life – in more ways than any diet, workout or friendship can! I am so excited to hear about how your relationship grows!

  16. I love reading about other people’s faith and “journeys.” I tend to be more private about faith and religion, so I always admire others’ ability to be so open and honest. It’s great inspiration. πŸ™‚

  17. Wow it’s so encouraging to see how many bloggers are following Christ! I read Beautiful Outlaw too – so eye-opening! Next book you should read: Kings Cross by Tim Keller. Incredible!

  18. I’ve been meaning to check that “She Reads Truth” study out! I keep seeing it pop up–thanks for the reminder!

    Hope your day is off to a great start!

  19. Good for you! I know that when I put God first, everything else falls into place. He is always there for us, but it’s up to us to come to Him through prayer and reading (scriptures), and service to others. He is definitely real. I know that He is my Heavenly Father and we’re children of God! It’s a beautiful thought, eh?! πŸ™‚

  20. I can relate to going back and forth with faith when I see the way that some Christians act…but we really need to remember that we are all human!! I try my very best to be the face of God in the world but I feel I fall SO SHORT! But that is the point. We are not perfect and we need the One who is. πŸ™‚

    I am actually currently going through a funk with church because at my large church..I am seeing these little hypocritical things. I really need to work on looking past this and to not be judgmental myself, but to know where I am with God…not where other people think I am.

    I was also going to start going to a women’s bible study but the book they were going over made me feel super uncomfortable. It might have just been from the amazon.com reviews, but it seems to be a very extremist side of being a wife or a “help-meet.” I really want fellowship with Christian ladies, but not when I’m cringing at what we’re talking about haha!

    I’m really glad you did this post…turns out I needed to talk about this a little! E-mail me anytime about this topic (or anything at all!) semihealthnut AT yahoo.

    Happy for you friend! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, definitely remembering that we are not perfect and that it’s okay not to be is something that is so important! And oh girl, I can totally understand how you feel about seeing hypocritical things and being wary of extremist stuff- I’ve always been that way! You really have to learn what works for you, because when I finally realized that, that’s when my faith has grown (and obviously still is). Seriously, please feel free to email me anytime as well!! I would love it πŸ˜€

  21. I was at the same place you are, and I actually talked to Ashley about it last night! Awesome girl…

  22. I just love you! I am so glad that God brought you into my life and that we can share this journey of faith together. πŸ™‚

  23. Great post… do your thing.

  24. weeping with joy over here! I’m so thankful that you accepted that book and didn’t reject it (or me).

    love you. a lot!

    • I would never reject you Linds!! And I’m so thankful that you are amazing and sent that book to me :). Love you too!! Bunches xxoo

  25. I love this SO much! I am so exciting about starting with SheReadsTruth sometime soon…what a wonderful thing!

  26. I’m glad you’ve gotten to such a good place in your faith and found the desire to have the relationship with God! I’m not really a religious person but respect those who are religious as well as being open-minded. It sounds like you want to do anything but blindly follow. You want to explore deep meanings and relationships in Christianity. It’ll be so exciting for you! And how awesome that you have the blog world to help you do that and support you.

    I missed the blogiversary post but I too would like to see day-in-the-life posts. I love those the most on any blog!

  27. That book sounds really interesting, thanks for sharing with us πŸ™‚

  28. I really admire this post. I know how difficult and scary it can be to open up about these things, but the fact that you did shows how much strength Christ can give us. Personally I have been blown away by how many awesome sisters in Christ there are in this blogging world and I am loving it. I know God brought me to blogging (and to all of you all) for a reason. Its amazing and makes me just love Him more and more. Again thank you for sharing…I look forward to growing closer to you as a sister in Christ!!

  29. I am not religious at all, so I guess I still don’t quite understand the difference between believing in a religion and God, and how that is separate. Maybe I should get into that book, it is something I’ve always wanted to be interested in, just don’t understand I guess. I really admire you putting your faith out here and opening up about it. I really hope I’m not offending you or anyone else by saying I don’t understand or know all that much about faith/God! I mean I attend church Christmas eve and Easter, but not outside of that. Hope your enjoying your week love!

    • Oh honey it took me a bit to figure that one out too haha. It’s still really hard to explain, but I definitely understand it now. I would definitely recommend reading that book if it is something that you’re interested in finding out more about!!

  30. I hope you have a great rest of the week!

  31. I love this! I’m so thankful that God has brought us into each other’s lives!! I think so many of us get caught up in the legalistic part of “religion” that we don’t realize it is a about a relationship with Jesus! πŸ™‚ We need to chat more!

  32. This is a great post, good for you for opening up! I’m looking forward to hearing your experience with the bible study — it looks really interesting!

  33. A truly great post Lindsay and I appreciate you being so honest with a topic such as this! At this time, I am not interested in something like this, however, it does not mean I haven’t debated it….perhaps making a connection or trying to establish one, could make a powerful difference. I am truly excited to hear your thoughts along the way!

    • Thank you Tessa! I’m glad you enjoyed it even though it isn’t something that interests you right now! I would never want to make you or anyone feel like it’s something you should be doing!

  34. I’ve been doing the She Reads Truth study and loving it!!! Definitely challenging the way we view ourselves/talk to ourselves if our focus is not on God and His Truth! I’m exited to check out that book too πŸ™‚

  35. Great Post! It is awesome to see another person become a follower of Jesus! He is wonderful!

  36. love that you are being so open with this! I definitely am on my own spiritual journey and like the She Reads Truth group for providing some areas to focus on

  37. Reading your post and all the uplifting comments that bloggers left makes me smile and I know that God loves it, too! How awesome that we have such an encouraging community right here at our fingertips everyday. Loved this post andI’ll have to check out that book. I just did a post over a book by the author of Soul Detox. The book is titled Weird and I looooved it!

  1. Pingback: 06/14: Thursday Thoughts

  2. Pingback: The Simple Things A-Z

Leave a Reply

