Honeymoon Location

Hi everyone!!

I hope you all had an amazing weekend! I’m sorry I was MIA from the blog world the past two days. I’ve been traveling…a lot! I left Florida on Saturday :(. I’m sad to be gone from Chris again. I’m trying not to think about it and just focus on the fact that I’ll see in him August. So after flying home on Saturday, I drove back to Pigeon Forge, TN yesterday for another trip to the Smoky Mountains! I can’t wait for some hiking!

Anyway, while in Florida this past week, Chris and I made some headway on wedding planning. Or actually, honeymoon planning! We decided where we are going!!

We’re going to JAMAICA :D.

Specifically we’re going to the Couples Swept Away Resort. And we are beyond excited for it! Originally we were looking at honeymoon places in St. Lucia and Antigua, but after lots of Googling and speaking with a travel agent, we decided on Jamaica. Jamaica is just as gorgeous as those other locations, but it is slightly less pricey- which for us two who have been in school and not working- is perfect!

Also, with the price of the resort being less, we are able to get a better type of room (and one on the beach) than we would in those other locations….YAY!

The resort is all-inclusive- it has 6 restaurants; 3 pools; 5 jacuzzis; 8 bars (including one on the beach, a piano bar, and a swim-up one); a sports complex with tennis, raquetball, and squash courts, a fitness center, track, and yoga classes. It also has watersports, golf, a spa, and several types of cruises you can take- some of which are included in the price! There are also excursions that we can  pay extra for – I saw something about swimming with dolphins and I totally wanna do that!

The placeis absolutely gorgeous. It doesn’t look too commercialized and everything just screams honeymoon to us :). The pictures make it look idyllic, breathtaking, and intimate. And our travel agent told us that the Couples Resorts get great reviews and are well-known for their good service.

Ahhhh I seriously can’t wait! As Chris said a few days ago…”Can we just go on our honeymoon now??” haha…I wish :D.

I hope my stamina holds up for the mountains we’ll be climbing today! And I hope you all have a great one!

**Don’t forget to enter my Shabby Apple giveaway! The winner will be announced on Wednesday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in Beach, Chris, Giveaway, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 60 Comments.

  1. That resort looks absolutely amazing! And all-inclusive is the way to go…my husband and I have found our most relaxing vacations to be at the all-inclusive resorts:) Can’t wait to hear about all the fun you have! When are you going to be going on your honeymoon?

  2. Hi Lindsay! I just stumbled across your blog! Those pictures are GORGEOUS! I’ve heard that all-inclusive is definitely the way to go when planning Honeymoons…it sounds like you guys are going to have a great time 🙂

    Have a great Monday!

  3. Um. Yes.

    Would it be awkward if I came along on your honeymoon? 🙂

  4. Congrats! That looks incredible!!! So, would you believe me if I told you that my hubby is from Pigeon Forge?? We go back all the time to visit family and friends! If you need some good tips on where to go let me know. You are in my old stomping ground!

  5. Woww that looks like heaven. I bet couples’ resorts are nice and quiet, too. (in a good way) and so many activities to do! all-inclusive is the way to go

    Looks amazing. Happy planning!

  6. jamaica!! you’ll have the BEST time!

  7. Yayyy congrats! So much fun! My parents actually went to Jamaica on their honeymoon 🙂

  8. OMG are you going to Swept Away in Negril?? THat’s where Jonny and I went!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Fabulous choice!! We literally never left the resort (though there is tons to do if you do want to leave!) and we had the best time ever!! Such good food, beautiful beach, so much fun!!! I’m so excited for you!! Jamaica is freakin awesome!!!! Enjoy every minute!! And go for as long as possible!!!!

    • Ahhhh such a small world!!!! I’m so happy to hear that you guys loved it :). That makes me love our decision even more haha

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oh, WOW Lindsay! You are going to have such a blast in Jamaica! I think you’re making the right decision going with a less-pricey alternative. Once you’re there and you’re staying in the gorgeous room, you wont even be thinking about the other destinations!

  10. gorgeous! My cousin got married in Jamaica and ten stayed there for the honeymoon and had a blat. I am sure you will too!

  11. Looks SO beautiful! YOu guys are going to have so much fun! We looked into Jamaica, but chose somewhere outside of the Hurricane belt instead. Regardless – everything looks amazing and I am jealous of your getaway! (But obvi looking forward to my own:) )

  12. What a fantastic pick, it looks so beautiful and just a perfect spot to kick back, relax and enjoy your lovely honeymoon! My parents went to Jamaica, wayyy back in the day of course haha, but they really loved it!

  13. LOOKS AWESOME! Enjoy every second of it!

  14. WOW WOW WOW!!!!! That looks so amazing, I’m so excited for you Linds!!! I went to Jamaica for a mission trip back in 2007 and the beaches were out of this world beautiful, I miss those crystal clear waters!

    Can I be a stowaway in your suitcase?? 😉

  15. OH WOW! That resort looks AMAZING! You two are going to have the best time!

  16. thats so exciting! that resort looks amazing i’m sure you both will have a fabulous time!

  17. That sounds like a great location! And you should definitely swim with dolphins, it’s an amazing experience!

  18. LOVED picking out my honeymoon location!!! Congratulations! This looks beautiful!

  19. That looks like an awesome honeymoon location! My husband & I went to Disney because we aren’t big beach people, but I sort of wish we would’ve done a resort anyway; they always look so nice! Maybe for a future vacation…

  20. Omg this looks absolutely beautiful! What an exciting time for you 🙂 Have a great Monday!

  21. you’ll have SO much fun! i think all-inclusive is totally the way to go. it’s so nice not having to worry about dropping a bunch of money on drinks and food while you’re there. i’m excited for you Linds!

  22. How exciting! It looks beautiful and it’s making me anxious for Mexico in August. You’re honeymoon will be here before you know it! 🙂

  23. The resort is stunning. My husband and I paid for our entire wedding ourselves. We got married at 27 and 29, so we felt like we should pay for the wedidng. Since we both have HUGE families and large groups of friends, we wanted to devote the majority of our money to our reception. Our parents did gift us with money that paid for a small honeymoon to the mountains – which we wouldn’t change for the world. And we agreeded that at the 5 year mark, we’d take a big trip somewhere tropical. We have been married 3 years now, so I am starting to look at resorts. I am going to add this one to my list. Thanks for sharing!

    • That is amazing that you guys did that! And I’m sure that 5 year mark will be here before you know it 🙂

  24. How amazing! I’m sure you are excited – I can’t wait to see pictures of the beautiful beach when you go! I don’t have any honeymoon experience, but it seems like all-inclusive is definitely the way to go. With all of the planning you’re doing for your wedding, it will be nice to have everything you need when you get there!

  25. That destination sounds absolutely perfect!!! It’ll be an amazing break after the wedding…You’ll have to consider sharing your thoughts on the resort after you get back because I’m always looking for vacation destinations that have a good reputation–it’s hard to tell just by looking online!

  26. Ah, Jamaica is amazing. Great choice. 🙂 We went there on a cruise, so we only had one day to explore–but we always say we want to go back!

  27. Ahhh how fun!!!! I’m so happy for you guys! You will have SUCH an incredible time. Be sure to enjoy every single moment and don’t even think about life at home! 😉

  28. hooray!! looks like such a fun destination!! we just celebrated our first anniversary yesterday. we haven’t gone on a big trip together yet so i’m really looking forward to it someday!

  29. That resort looks stunning! How beautiful! So exciting that you guys figured out a destination for a honeymoon!!! I’m so happy for you two! 🙂

  30. WOOO HOOO! That is so exciting! We went to Jamaica on our honeymoon and it was honestly the best choice! We went to Secrets all inclusive couples only and it really was amazing. You are going to have SUCH an amazing time! Congrats! 🙂

    • YAY! I’m happy to hear that you loved it there :). I love all of the names of the different type of resorts haha

  31. YAY!! LOVE it. Jamaica, baby! That rocks! So excited for ya!

  32. I have heard great things about that resort! I hope you enjoy 🙂

  33. We went to an all inclusive resort in the Dominican for our honeymoon and loved it! It was so nice to not have to worry or plan anything much beyond our hotel because it was all included. Made it easier to really relax and go with the flow. Looks gorgeous!

  34. GORGEOUS! You’ll have such a great time!

  35. That resort looks stunning! Esp the pool bar 😀

    My fiance and I are going to Hawaii (not that we’ve booked it or anything!). He’s more excited about that than the wedding!

  36. You are going to have an absolutely amazing time! The pictures look beautiful!

  37. That looks amazing! You guys will have a blast!

  38. YAYYYYYYYYY for getting the honeymoon planned! That place looks AMAZING – I’m so happy for y’all. We went to St. Lucia, but the only reason we got to go there was because we bought the travel package at an auction (it was crazy – everyone knew it was for our honeymoon so no one bid against us). We still had to purchase the all-inclusive package and airfare, but we basically got the room for free. I wish I could come see you in east TN! Love you!

  39. Great destination sweetheart! I chose to go to Jamaica as my grad present and I HAD to swim with the dolphins too! I have all of the info on where I went if you want it 😉 They make a video of you swimming with them and you can buy it 🙂 We definitely did! They caught me surfing on top of the dolphins. I was life changing.

    Love you girl! So happy for you

  40. Jamaica looks amazing!

  41. So so pretty! Honeymoon planning is definitely the best part 🙂

  42. I’m down for anywhere with a swim-up bar! 😉 Y’all will have a great time.

  43. Lindsey @ Stink and Hincks

    Oh my goodness! My boyfriend and I were at Couples Swept Away last year (during this exact week, actually) for my best friend’s wedding. The resort was very nice, and you absolutely won’t be bored! We went scuba diving (for free!), snorkeling, catamaran cruise, and learned to parasail. While there, I highly suggest the Asian restaurant (YUM!) except none of the restaurants are air conditioned – so be warned! The BEST part of the resort is the martini bar. Have a couples martini for me! You can basically dive into it 🙂

  44. Your honeymoon location looks beautiful! I don’t have a passport and we weren’t sure I could get one in time without paying a fortune for it, so we didn’t even look at anything outside of the country — but I definitely want to look into it for a vacation later on down the road!

  45. Yay, how exciting!! I wish I could go back to my honeymoon. It was the best trip ever! Enjoy ever single minute of it and be sure to stay disconnected from the rest of the world – it is so worth it!

  1. Pingback: Review and Hiking in the Smoky Mountains

Leave a Reply

