Review and Hiking in the Smoky Mountains

Hi!!

Hiking in the Smoky Mountains has been awesome so far! But, more on that in a minute. First I have a quick little review for you! Last week while I was in Florida I received a Bulu Box.

So…what exactly is Bulu Box?? It’s something that you get a monthly subscription to. As stated on the website:

Every month, you’ll get a box filled with 4 to 5 nutritional supplements from top brands. Look forward to a new mix of products for both men and women, including vitamins, supplements, sports nutrition, meal replacement, diet, energy, protein, detox, digestion, sexual health, herbs, natural remedies, endurance and more. We’ll make sure you get enough to decide if the product is right for you. No shipping or shady fees. Depending on your plan you can cancel anytime.

Pretty nifty huh?? I’m always so confused when it comes to all of the supplements out there and this would be a really nice way to try different products out and see if you like them!

There was a nice little selection of things in my box:

In that mix we have some Vitamin D3, a “night food” bar, a couple of Omega-3 fish oil pills, a fat-targeting and sculpting agent, and an energy supplement in a tube! Also, there was a list of descriptions of the products and what they were fore. So helpful!

The Bulu Box has some really great stuff in it! I think the only thing I wouldn’t really use in this box consistently is the cellucor fat-targeting and sculpting agent. I love my nighttime snacks and having one that contains melatonin to help with sleep is pretty awesome :D. So, if you’re interested in finding out more about Bulu Box, visit their websiteand see the different kinds of things you might be able to try!

——————–

So, I don’t want this to get too wordy, so I’ll just quickly sum up so far. On Monday we hiked the Alum Cave Bluffs trail, which was 4.4 miles round trip. The scenery was amazing!

Me, my dad, and bro

The bluffs at the top of the trail!

Yesterday we hiked a much harder trail- the Rainbow Falls trail. It was 5.4 miles roundtrip, much more rocky, and it was steeper all the way to the top of the trail- at which there was a waterfall!

The waterfall!!

And the coolest part of this hike….can you see it??

A bear!! He was in the water, and then came over fairly near us and started climbing a tree!

Hiking is awesome! And definitely challenging at times! It’s a nice change from gym workouts right now.

**And before I forget, the winner of the Shabby Apple giveaway is: #22 – Traci! Please email me your full name, address, and phone number at Linds7688 at gmail dot com!

I hope you all have an amazing Wednesday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Family, Fitness, Giveaway, Life, Review, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Wow, how crazy that you saw a bear!! I think I might have had a heart attack! 😉 But I love hiking. It’s SO much more fun than just being on a boring treadmill!!

  2. So beautiful! I just got back from a trip to Asheville, NC. I loved the area and became completely intrigued by the Smoky Mountains. My friend and I are already planning a trip back to hike there so love reading about your experience but a bear??!?!

  3. I can’t believe you saw a bear hun! How scary! But beautiful at the same time 🙂

  4. i’ve never heard of the bulu box… cool concept though!

  5. Holy cow I can’t believe yall saw a bear!!! That’s so awesome! I’m in love with all these pics too, hiking is so much fun 🙂

  6. What a gorgeous hike!! I need to get out and hiking more this summer! I rarely hike, but when I do.. I enjoy it so much!

  7. I would love a snack that helps me sleep haha. Those pictures are great, especially the bear!

  8. Such gorgeous pictures! Hiking is so much fun!

  9. so beautiful! and wow, that bear! that’s so neat, but i would’ve definitely been a little freaked out! haha. i LOVE hiking! i’m so glad you were able to spend some time with your dad and brother in the beautiful outdoors!

  10. The bulu box sounds interesting. It’s amazing what people come up with! I don’t really take any supplements but this sure seems like a great way to try different things and find the right products for you.

    How crazy that you saw a bear, that close!!!! I’d be horrified. I love hiking and luckily where I live the wildlife isn’t that scary 😉

  11. I wish I lived closer to somewhere that I could hike, it looks like such a fun way to take a workout outdoors! Can’t believe you got those pics of the bear, great photos!

  12. Ahhhh I’m so jealous you’re in the Smoky Mountains! My family and I went every single year until I graduated high school. I’ve actually hiked Alums Cave Bluffs at least 5 times with my parents, so it’s awesome seeing someone else who is there! 🙂 If you have the time I HIGHLY suggest you climb to the Chimney Tops (AMAZING views! Like absolutely gorgeous!) and to Mount LeConte (but it’s a full day hike, I think it’s 6 miles up and 6 miles down). I’ve hiked both and it’s such a beautiful view!

    • We did Chimney Tops last time I was there! We were hoping to do it again, but it was closed because they were repairing the trail!

  13. Good thing you had on your bear spray. 🙂 I’m so glad y’all are having fun!!!

  14. What fantastic scenery! And a bear?! Whoa. Would’ve love to see that.

  15. Wow, gorgeous mountains! So jealous! And I’ve tried a bunch of different boxes before, sometimes you get great stuff, other times just a box of duds. But nightbar- I’ve heard about that before. Let us know how that works! I’m a chronic insomniac!

  16. Ahhhh LOVE it! This is gorgeous scenery. ENjoy those moments with your fam–looks amazing 🙂

  17. The Bulu Box sounds interesting… looks like there was lots of good stuff in there!

    How cute is the bear climbing the tree?! Good thing you could admire him from a safe distance!

  18. Can’t believe you’re this close to me and we didn’t meet up! i’m like 2 hours away!

    and a bear…eek!

  19. Ah! That bear is so cute! That hike sounds like such an awesome experience, with amazing scenery! It really looks breathe taking! Have a great day love!xo

  20. Bulu box is such a great concept. In the past few months I’ve been drinking a herbal “sleepytime” tea to help me sleep. It was working out really well until I started hating the taste haha. I definitely need to investigate and see if they sell night food in ontario 🙂

  21. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    OH MY GOODNESS, I DID THE RAINBOW FALLS HIKE WITH A GROUP OF MY FRIENDS A FEW YEARS BACK!! Okay i’ll stop yelling– but that’s crazy that we did the same one! Did you guys go up to sit under the waterfall by any chance?

    • Ahhh that’s awesome!! An no, we didn’t sit under the waterfall…there were some people doing that though!

  22. Holy moly, a bear!! That would have both amazed and scared me at the same time, but it’s more awesome than anything 🙂 Such pretty pictures too, what a lovely day you had outdoors!

    The Bulu box is a wonderful concept as well, glad you shared it with us m’dear!

  23. Ahhh I am going on a hiking trip this summer and your pics made me so excited! I kind of hope I see a bear… but at the same time, I kind of don’t 🙂

  24. Glad you are having a good time!

  25. Hey Lindsay! Great pics! I just saw this post today about some camps being closed in the Smokies because of bears. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/06/27/great-smoky-camping-areas_0_n_1630057.html

  26. Thank you for those pics!! You took me back home in this post. I can’t tell you have many times we have been on those trails. Have you hiked the Chimney’s yet?? That is where we got engaged!!!

    • Oh my goodness, that had to be a gorgeous engagement!!! We didn’t get to hike the Chimney’s this time because it was closed so they could repair the trail…but I hiked it last time I was there! Such an awesome trail!

  27. Wow! Your hiking pictures are so beautiful! My husband and I just landed in Portland yesterday and are looking forward to hitting some trails around here…and maybe we’ll see something as awesome as a bear!

  28. That Blu box is cool. I love trying different supplements. And then once you find one you like, you can buy a full size pack.

  29. Haha oh my gosh! That’s so nuts (and cool!) that you saw a bear! He’s so cute!

  30. The scenery is amazing! I was about 100 yards away from a black bear in college! He was cute, but I would rather have seen him far away. 🙂

  1. Pingback: My First Bulu Box! | Fighting for Wellness

Leave a Reply

