Recent Reads

Happy 4th of July everyone!!!

I hope you all have an amazing holiday! I want to thank you so much for all of your support and well wishes on my last post :D. My first two days of fieldwork went well! I definitely know that I’m going to have a lot of hard work ahead of me, but I’m very excited. There is one thing however…I’m exhausted! On Monday, I got home around 7pm and wanted to go to bed at like 8 haha. I hope that this is just something that will take getting used to!

I’ve been trying to figure out my workout schedule with all of this too. I’ve decided to only workout 5 days a week now instead of 6. Two days of the week I start at 8:30 and the other two at 7:30. I’ve determined that those two 8:30 start days I’ll get up at 5am to go workout. Let’s hope those workouts are successful haha. Then I’ll workout on my day off and the two weekend days. I think 5 days of working out is going to be sufficient for me right now. I just know that 6 days would mean way less sleep than I need and not enough rest for my body!

Okay, so I mentioned last week that I’ve read a few good books recently!  They are:

– The Watchers by Jon Steele

Here is the synopsis from goodreads:

Meet Marc Rochat, a man-child who has devoted his life to being the bell ringer at the Gothic Lausanne Cathedral, one of the greatest architectural structures in the world. Eerie things have been going on in and around his church, including tremblings in the underground crypt and a variety of gruesomely murdered bodies showing up in nearby streets. Across the square from the cathedral lives Katherine Taylor, a beautiful young American woman who is making phenomenal money as one of the highest-priced call girls in Switzerland; she’s a bit too introspective for her own good and, unfortunately, much too observant of her clients’ peccadilloes. Rochat’s and Taylor’s lives collide with Jay Harper, a British private eye who has been sent to investigate the killings and other strange doings; alas, he has no memory of who hired him or precisely why he was chosen for the job. And now all the clues are pointing skyward, where fallen angels are said to haunt Lausanne.

At first, I just couldn’t get into this book. The character Marc Rochat is really quirky and I felt like things were so confusing for a bit because it kept jumping between characters…and I couldn’t tell how they were all going to be connected. And then, just as I was about to say screw it to finishing it…the book got incredibly interesting! So much so, that I ended up really liking it and I can’t wait for the next one!

– The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Here is the synopsis from goodreads:

The Language of Flowers beautifully weaves past and present, creating a vivid portrait of an unforgettable woman whose gift for flowers helps her change the lives of others even as she struggles to overcome her own troubled past.

The Victorian language of flowers was used to convey romantic expressions: honeysuckle for devotion, asters for patience, and red roses for love. But for Victoria Jones, it’s been more useful in communicating grief, mistrust, and solitude. After a childhood spent in the foster-care system, she is unable to get close to anybody, and her only connection to the world is through flowers and their meanings.

Now eighteen and emancipated from the system, Victoria has nowhere to go and sleeps in a public park, where she plants a small garden of her own. Soon a local florist discovers her talents, and Victoria realizes she has a gift for helping others through the flowers she chooses for them. But a mysterious vendor at the flower market has her questioning what’s been missing in her life, and when she’s forced to confront a painful secret from her past, she must decide whether it’s worth risking everything for a second chance at happiness.

This book was really good! It was very engaging, although I don’t know if I would recommend that a guy read it haha. It definitely had some really sad parts that tugged at my heart, but I thought it was beautifully written and a really intriguing story. I loved how the chapters alternated between past and present and you were able to get a good picture of why the character Victoria is the way she is.

–  Arranged by Catherine McKenzie (I read her first book Spin a while back and loved it!)

Here’s the synopsis from goodreads:

Anne Blythe has a great life: a good job, good friends, and a potential book deal for her first novel. When it comes to finding someone to share it with, however, she just can’t seem to get it right.

After yet another relationship ends, Anne comes across a business card for what she thinks is a dating service, and she pockets it just in case. When her best friend, Sarah, announces she’s engaged, Anne can’t help feeling envious. On an impulse, she decides to give the service a try because maybe she could use a little assistance in finding the right man. But Anne soon discovers the company isn’t a dating service; it’s an exclusive, and pricey, arranged marriage service. She initially rejects the idea, but the more she thinks about it-and the company’s success rate-the more it appeals to her. After all, arranged marriages are the norm for millions of women around the world, so why wouldn’t it work for her?

A few months later, Anne is travelling to a Mexican resort, where in one short weekend she will meet and marry Jack. And against all odds, it seems to be working out-until Anne learns that Jack, and the company that arranged their marriage, are not what they seem at all.

This was such a fun book to read! I love reading a good “chick lit” type novel….especially this kind that has a good plot, some twists that aren’t expected, good dialogue and characters that you can relate to! If you enjoy books like “Something Borrowed” you would probably really like this too :D.

And I’d say that’s enough for today hehe. Happy Holiday!!!

What’s the best novel you’ve read recently?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Books, Life, Reading, Review. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I always love when you give book suggestions! I immediately see if my library has them.

  2. Oooh I’m in. Just finished MWF ISO BFF and need a new read!

  3. Does 50 Shades count?? Haha that’s the last book I’ve read. I love anything by Jodi Piccoult though!

  4. I just ordered “Arranged” off Amazon, after seeing this post! Hopefully it gets here before our trip … I like reading something silly and easy on vacations!

    Have a great day, my friend!

  5. Thanks for the suggestions– always on the lookout for new books 🙂

  6. Just realized we are at the EXACT same point as each other in our OT Programs, give or take a few weeks. I am in my fourth week of fieldwork at a hospital and its SO busy. A bit overwhelming at time but I’m managing. I already have a normal caseload (ah!) which is just crazy to me haha. Good luck with your affiliation, I’m sure you are doing great 🙂 Are you at a hospital or are you doing peds?

    • Ahh that’s so exciting!!! And kind of scary haha. I don’t think I’ll have a full caseload that quickly. Good luck with everything!! I’m doing pediatrics, but it’s outpatient through our children’s hospital! Is yours adult phys dys?

      • It is kind of scary haha, kind of thrown right into it. Yup, I’m in adult phys dys because I definitely want to work with adults. Hope you enjoy your peds placement, should be fun! Sounds like a great place.

  7. I’m currently reading Catching Fire. I read The Hunger Games last summer, but never read the other two books in the series. I want to read them this summer so I’m all set when the corresponding movies come out!

    Happy 4th!

  8. Thanks for your suggestions! I’ve been looking for a new book to read and these look great!

  9. Sadly, I haven’t read any books. Stupid master’s degree… I need to make time though! I’m going to check to see if my library has these! 🙂

  10. I just reserved a copy of Arranged from my library! Thanks for the recommendation!!!

    T.

  11. I’m so excited you posted this because I always love your book suggestions! We definitely have the same reading taste! Have a great holiday today ❤

  12. this could not be better timing. I have been in dire need of new book suggestions! 😀

  13. I’m so glad it went well! Honestly, since I’ve been working a lot, I’ve had so many more rest days. I worked all last weekend and had no time to workout. 8+ hours a day of work, f that! I came home and CRASHED! haha, you will get used to it 😀

  14. That last book looks intriguing!

  15. Working out is always tough with an early work schedule! It’s 5 AM for me every day!

  16. I’m looking for some new books so this is great! Language of Flowers has been on my list, glad you enjoyed it!

  17. I’m so glad your first two days went well 🙂 It may seem totally exhausting @ the moment, but your body will adjust, and you won’t have to crash at 8pm lol. Also, I think it’s absolutely wonerful that your listening to your body when it comes to working out for the time being. Don’t over do yourself 🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful 4th of July!

  18. Starting a new job is always exhausting I find! I’m sure you will settle into your new routine in no time at all.

    Thanks for the book updates! Funny, my sister was just telling me about The Language of Flowers. Arranged sounds good, too. The last novel I read was Skinnydipping. I loved it!

  19. I am always on the hunt for new books to read, thanks for the recommendations pretty lady! The Language of Flowers sounds like one I would enjoy, I plan to read it after my current one and will of course let you know what I think 🙂

  20. YES to the idea of working out less and sleeping more. I am SO of that type too! I’d never sacrifice sleep so I could get ‘more’ workouts in, because it ALWAYS backfires! hah.

    That last book sounds good! If you like the dystopian type novels, you’d like “Under the Never Sky.” It was a good read!

  21. Thanks for the suggestions! I recently finished 50 Shades of Gray… can’t say I really liked though…

  22. Thanks for the book reviews. The “Arranged” book looks interesting and I’m putting it on my reading list 🙂

  23. Are you on GoodReads? Lets be friends (http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/8170933-katie-evans)! I’m always looking for suggestions on new books to read. Those are great options, I’ll have to add them to my list!

Leave a Reply

