A Typical Day While Completing My Internship

Hey there!

No, I haven’t disappeared…I’ve just been crazy busy. Which is why I’ve decided to establish a new “blogging policy” like my friend Brittany did a couple weeks ago. You see, I’ve been so busy with my internship that the past couple of days I honestly thought about stopping my blog. But then, I saw Lindsay last night at a a restaurant and it made me realize how much I would miss blogging and this wonderful community.

So, part one of my new “policy” is that I’m going to post when I feel like and when I have time….and only then. I’m not going to force myself to bust out a post just because I feel like I should. Frankly, that will cause me stress and give you some poor reading material. I will try to post 3 times a week, but if it doesn’t happen then so be it. I need to live my life and dedicate the necessary amount of time and energy to my internship!

Part two of this policy is that I will only comment if I feel like I have the time to. I love reading blogs and will absolutely continue to read all of yours, but sometimes commenting adds a lot of time to that process which I just don’t have. I’m truly sorry about this. Just remember, that even though I may not comment on your blog as much doesn’t mean that I’m not reading!

Okay…so, wanna see a day in my life while at my internship? Then you can understand how busy I am haha. I saw Chelsey write a similar post about a typical summer day for her and was inspired :D. This is an example of a day this week…some days I start around 8:30 and other days I start at 7:30AM:

  • 5:00 AM – Wake up and change into workout clothes
  • 5:15 AM – Workout (either in basement of at the gym)
  • 6:30 AM – Shower
  • 6:45 AM – Eat breakfast and drink coffee and read some blogs
  • 7:15 AM – Get ready for work
  • 7:30 AM – Pack lunch
  • 7:45 AM – Leave and drive to work
  • 8:15 AM – Arrive at work
  • 8:20 AM – Start day at work
  • 6:45 PM – End day at work
  • 6:50PM – Drive home and make calls to Chris, family members, and friends
  • 7:15 PM – Arrive home and eat dinner
  • 7:45 PM – Plan treatment activities for the next day
  • 8:30 PM – Start to nod off on the couch because I’m so tired…lay there and watch tv or peruse the internet
  • 9:00PM – Get ready for bed
  • 9:15 PM – Go to bed
Um…no wonder I slept for almost 11 hours last night haha. The days where I start at 7:30AM I get off work a little earlier and have some more time in the evening which is nice.

I hope you all understand where I’m coming from and stick with me as I try to juggle everything at this time. I love you all!! ❤

Have a fantastic weekend 😀

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in About Me, Blogging, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Good luck Lindsay–I know from experience that it can be a struggle to balance it all, but I’m sure you can do it!! 🙂

  2. Sable@SquatLikeALady

    Oh wow that is one busy day!!! Do what’s right for you – you’ve gotta find your own balance! =)

  3. Busy girl! Good luck with everything 🙂

  4. You are a busy girl! And it’s totally understandable that you won’t be able to spend as much time on blogging. I used to get stressed out when I first started mine because my work day (which had hours pretty similar to what you’re doing now!) didn’t allow for blogging anywhere near every day. You just have to do what works for you!

  5. Goodness girl!! You are a busy bee! It will be worth it, hang in there!

  6. It sounds like you’re very busy!! Your blog policy sounds good – I think it’s necessary to not force yourself to blog when there are so many other things to do!

  7. i admire you for doing what is best for YOU! that’s all that matters. good luck on your internship my dear! love you!

  8. sounds like your living life. We’re always here. ❤

  9. That is certainly a packed schedule! I’m thinking of instituting a similar blogging policy once the school year starts up again… between teaching full time, taking grad classes, & managing a household, it got to be A LOT last year. We’ll see…

  10. I am in the same boat! I slept almost 11 hours last night from working long hours. I think it’s best to just blog when you CAN! 🙂

  11. Wow you work long hours! I only do 6 hours a day for my internship. No wonder you get so tired. I work out right as I wake up too. I like having it out of the wat early on 🙂

  12. You most definitely deserve to give yourself a break when it comes to blogging and commenting! That’s quite a schedule!

  13. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Thanks for the shout-out girlie 😀 I know EXACTLY where you’re coming from!

    Although my schedule is definitely not as busy as yours is, it’s been pretty weird getting used to everything, and my blog has naturally fallen by the wayside. I think it’s healthy to be able to step back for a bit, even if you only post ONCE a week! I love being able to hear about what’s going on in your life 🙂

    Love you! Have a great weekend!

    • You’re welcome! I totally agree with you, I think it’s healthy too..I just needed to adjust my thinking! Love you too girlie! I hope your weekend has been great 😀

  14. my schedule is very similar! i wake up super early, workout, take some time in the morning for breakfast, getting ready, reading blogs, and then am in bed by 9:15! love it!

  15. Wow, you sure are busy!!! It must me difficult to handle it all at first, but soon enough it will become routine! Definitely worth it though!! And you are doing what is best for you and living your life, which is a huge plus!

  16. YOU are busy!! I totally understand your blogging policy! I too read blogs but don’t always have time to comment on them–which is sad, of course. But LIFE is more important than the Internet to me. Have a great day off 🙂

  17. Haha I love this blogging policy. Mine is basically the same, which is why I haven’t posted in two weeks… 😉

  18. Hey! I just stumbled upon your blog and I’m in love! I can’t wait to keep reading more. Keep up the great work!

  19. That’s my blogging policy too. 🙂 Your days look extremely full, so I bet you are very tired at the end of each day. However, I’m sure that the longer you do it the more your body will adjust to having the longer hours. I need to try to work on going to bed earlier (like before 10:30) so I can get plenty of sleep each night.

    I think you are doing a fabulous job of balancing everything out! Love you!

  20. Blog when you can! The community will always be here, and you will enjoy it more ;). That’s my philosophy anyways….

  21. Damn Lindsday! You are busy! Good for you for not pushing yourself to do too much. Burnout is the worst. Plus, the blogging community isn’t going anywhere – we’re always here. My policy is no blogging on the weekends. Weekends are for me and me only.

  22. Umm somehow I missed this post Lindsay, what the heck! Anyway, I could not agree more with your blogging policy, you are quite busy indeed.. doing your thing and that is fantastic. I am glad you are not pushing yourself to do it when you don’t want to… forcing out a post is just the worst. I never blog on the weekends, except the very rare times I have nothing else to do ha, and usually only 3x per week

  23. Oh honey, I am right there with ya! Still reading and blogging when I can, but not stressing about it. Glad you realize that you need to live your life. Your blog is a part of that, but it isn’t the whole thing! Proud of you for finding that balance! 🙂

  24. I feel the same way about blogging/commenting, especially since it’s summertime and there are so many outdoorsy activities to be doing instead of holed up on my computer! 🙂 I took a little two week time out because life got in the way, which is never a bad thing. I’m glad you’re back though! 🙂

  25. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Crazy schedule! I don’t blame you…I honestly do the same thing….I wish I could blog 3 times a day, but it’s just not realistic! Maybe someday I will, but for now I am just doing the best I can 🙂

  26. Oh girl, I could not be more proud of you AND I love this post even more than I originally would have because I can totally relate. I just started actually working more for this summer with my new job and yikes! I ran out of time to comment and read as many blogs as I want to! My google reader is busting by the seems, but you know what!? Enjoying life is so much more important! I am so happy you made this policy, hun. Really, I am ❤ And I totally feel the same way! It is more important to blog if you want to and have something to say or the time to say what you want to say! When a blog creates you stress that just doesn't work!

    Anyways, you are a super busy girl missy! Look at that long day of yours! I wake up at 5:30 and go until 5:00 and I am wiped! You are home far later than that! So proud of you

  1. Pingback: New Workout Schedule

Leave a Reply

