New Workout Schedule

Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a great weekend! Thank you for your support on my new blogging policy! I’m so glad you guys understand where I’m coming from.

So not only is my blogging “schedule” changing with my internship but my workout schedule has had to change as well. I used to be able to exercise 6 days a week but that can’t really happen anymore. I just don’t have the time or energy to workout two days of the week, and I’m trying not to worry about it.

Chris was amazing and yesterday he wrote up a 12-week workout plan for me :D. He gave me guidelines for what to do for every workout, but the only ones he really wrote out were the resistance ones. Which is perfect and exactly what I asked him to do. I’ve been kind of in a rut with lifting and it will be really nice to be able to go to the gym and not have to come up with exercises on my own!

My new workout schedule will look something like this:

  • Monday: interval workout
  • Tuesday: resistance and abs/low-back workout
  • Thursday: interval workout
  • Saturday: resistance workout
  • Sunday: cardio and abs/low-back workout

I started this plan this morning! And I’ll probably be making up a new interval workout for you guys with the workout guidelines he gave me :D.

The other thing I wanted to discuss was how I prepared myself for workouts at 5am in the morning. I never used to workout that early in the morning….much less feel like I was awake enough to ever feel like I could MOVE that early in the morning haha. So starting the week before my internship I slowly adjusted my sleep schedule.

I progressively started getting up earlier and earlier and tried to go to bed at earlier times as well. This way I wouldn’t feel like I was hit like a ton of bricks on the first morning of my internship. I started with waking up at 7:30am. The following days I would wake up either 15 minutes or a half hour earlier. And let me tell you- it worked!

Sure, my first workout after getting up at 5am may not have been stellar, but I was able to wake up fairly easily and felt awake enough to push myself! So, it totally is possible to get your body adjusted to working out early in the morning. I would just advise you not to go into head on. Ease yourself and your body into it and I think it will be much easier!

Anyway, I hope you all have a great Monday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Chris, Fitness, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Awesome! Your new plan sounds great! And you know I’m a fan of early morning workouts haha 😉

    Hope your week gets off to a great start!

  2. what you did to get ready is 100% how I too shifted to the morning

    and I NOW ADORE IT.

    xo

  3. Looks like a great training schedule. Keep up your awesome work. Wishing you the best!

  4. Congrats on making your new schedule work for you. I have a hard time getting up for those 5:30 workouts, but it feels so great when it’s 7:30 and you’re done for the day!

  5. How friggen sweet of Chris to make up a 12 week workout schedule for you ❤ Good luck with it all.. not like you need it though 🙂

  6. Awesome! Good for you. I was the same way…never worked out in the am and then once I started (years ago) it became a routine and I loved it. You will totally get used to it and you’ll love the fact that your work out is done for the day so early in the morning. (And you’ll probably be in a better mood with all of those endorphins!!) 🙂

  7. I don’t love getting up at 5 a.m. for my workouts, but I do love getting them done early! Enjoy the new plan. 🙂

  8. I can’t do anything at 5am! lol. Looks like a great training schedule. I just need Chris to make me one now. Ha!

  9. i think your new workout plan is a great one! good for you to recognize what is best for you and your body. i know you will see MORE results and your body will appreciate the fact that you are getting in a good solid 5 workouts rather than exhausting yourself trying to get in 6. proud of you!

  10. I always think it’s funny to look back to college, when I HATED getting up in time for an 8am class (that was a 5-minute walk from my dorm room and I practically went in my pajamas) and now I don’t like being up later than 6 to workout. My normal wakeup time on a work day is 5, but I have to admit that my workout never begins until 5:30 at the earliest. And in the winter, sometimes 5:45. It’s so hard to get out of bed when it’s cold!

  11. This sounds like a legit plan to me Lindsay, and I also am giving you major props on dealing with your busy work schedule and working out a tad less… or at least one day. I know for people like us that can be hard to handle, but your schedule looks like it will fit well with for you!

  12. I wake up at 5am so I can workout before my internship too, but now I’ve done it for so long that I wake up at 5am every day – whether I like it or not!

  13. Looks like an awesome plan to me! Great job including lower back exercises–those often get forgotten!

    P.s. AMAZING job on waking up at 5 a.m. It is totally tough. I do it 1-2x/week and it’s hard stuff. But usually worth it. Hah 😉

  14. Your new plan sounds perfect for you! Its definitely tough to get used to those early early workouts, but soon it will be second nature 😉 I know the workout change up must be a little weird/hard at first but it seems like you are coping well! I really need to get back into strength training more hah

  15. Get it, girl!! Chris is awesome for doing that for you.

    also, I admire your commitment and hard work to this internship, Linds 🙂

  16. 5 am gets easier, I promise!! And if not… itz ALWAYS worth it! 🙂 🙂

  17. It looks like a great plan! I actually love working out early in the morning…do you snack on something first? I always debate about this…

    • I haven’t been snacking on anything when I get up at 5am. But, if I do a morning workout where I have more time then I usually eat breakfast first and let it digest before heading to the gym!

  18. Looks awesome – I’m about to convince myself to start getting up early. Haven’t quite got there yet…but I will!

  19. Looks like Chris created a great training schedule for you. 5:00 a.m. workouts are tough – but the benefits to your body and mind are worth it. Keep up the good work!

  20. This is so helpful- I’ve had to start work 4 hours earlier than usual and am struggling waking up to go run. Love the 15 minute increment idea instead of just surprising my body and expecting it to cooperate!

  21. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Working out at 5a.m sounds tough! I commend you!

  22. I have recently begun working out at 5:30am. I agree that it’s a process, but one that’s worth it! I love having a workout done by 7am!

  23. I have recently begun working out at 5:30am. I agree that it’s a process, but one that’s worth it! I love having a workout done by 7am!

  1. Pingback: 30 Minute Endurance Interval Workout

  2. Pingback: Bridesmaid Dresses

Leave a Reply

