Smoothie and Music

Hi everyone!!

This morning I made my first smoothie since moving back from Boston. Crazy huh? I don’t know why I waited so long because it was just as tasty as I remembered :).

I also did something new (to me anyway) with it. I added oatmeal! Chris has always done this and I saw that Ashley adds it to her breakfast smoothies too so I decided to finally try it. And guess what? You can’t taste it haha!

That would be a 6-pound bag of frozen strawberries from Costco. Yes, 6 pounds! And that is almond-coconut milk. SO TASTY :).

Here’s what all went in the smoothie:

  • 1 medium banana
  • Handful of frozen strawberries
  • 3/4-1 cup of unsweetened almond-coconut milk
  • 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 4 drops liquid stevia
  • Ice

I have a feeling that smoothies are going to be making more appearances in my life right now!

I downloaded a new CD the other day and I’m obsessed with it! It’s country and it’s the new Love and Theft album! I love every song on it, which is rare for me.

These two guys are pretty good lookin’ if I may say so ;). Don’t worry Chris…you’re my number 1! I heard their song Angel Eyes on the radio and loved it.

I may or may not have been listening to this CD on repeat since I bought it hehe. Speaking of country music…yes, I do enjoy some of it!…the new Gloriana album just came out! I think I need to get that one today. And then I’m gonna want to be boppin’ my head along to the music while working out :).

What’s your recent favorite song/album??

I hope you have a great day!

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Breakfast, Music, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. The Almond Breeze coconut almond milk is one of my favorites! I love love love it. Your smoothie sounds delicious – I may make a smoothie today to take with me to cheer practice. They really are such a great tasty way to get in a ton of nutrients.

    I love that you enjoy country music 🙂 I cannot think of a favorite song right now, but I’ll sing along to anything I know (or think I know) on the radio!

  2. i need to try the oatmeal thing in my smoothies 🙂 it looks so yummy!! and country music is the best. i love it!

  3. I really need to do a better job of keeping track of where my favorite bloggers live. I’m always shocked when I read Boston and get so excited to be like, “Me too! I live here too!” It’s kind of sad.

    I’ve never had Almond Breeze coconut milk, only the original unsweetened almond milk. I love coconut though, so I’ll have to give it a try!

    I love country music, but I grew up in the South so I don’t think I had much choice. 🙂

  4. This smoothie looks great! I added oatmeal once, but never thought to do it again for some reason? Next time 🙂

  5. I looove that almon coconut milk! So yummy 😀

  6. I’m glad you loved the oats in your smoothie! I like how it adds a little more texture to the smoothie. Yum! Smoothies have made a regular appearance over here lately. I’m always craving them during the warmer months.

    Oh, and I LOVE that song too!!!! I don’t know if I knew you liked country?? I might be on your page all day listening to this song. 😉

  7. hehe i buy that bag of strawberries at costco too 🙂

  8. Oh I’m SO happy to hear that the Love & Theft CD is good. I’ve been LOVING “Angel Eyes” when I hear it on the radio, but didn’t want to buy the single until I could hear samples of the whole CD.

    I love “Cruise” by Florida Georgia Line. [I think that’s their name…]

  9. I’m going to have to try oatmeal in my smoothies, that sounds good! I’ve been wanting to make a smoothie, but we got a new blender for our wedding and I haven’t cleaned it out yet, so I haven’t bothered to make a smoothie yet. That makes me sound so lazy, I know, but I’ve been washing sooo many new things for our kitchen (you will know how this goes after you have your bridal shower) — not that it’s a bad thing :).

  10. I love using frozen strawberries, makes the smoothies come out extra slushy and cold 😉

  11. I loooooovvveeee smoothies! The husband and I have one almost every day–we TOO have that HUGE bag of strawberries + 2 huge bags of frozen mixed berries. They are amazing!

    I am not a Country fan, sorry! But I do love a little Shania/Faith Hill once in awhile 🙂

  12. i make 3 smoothies a day, you should move here! Love that country. ❤

  13. The smoothie looks great! And I’m loving the fiber-licious strawberries! Yum!

  14. I haven’t tried oatmeal in a smoothie yet either, I thought it might make the texture a little gross, but I’ll have to try it out!

    p.s. I LOVE that song!

  15. Oh my I am obsessed with this song at the moment!!! I never knew who sang it though, I have never heard of these guys, I just keep hearing this song on the radio! So glad you mentioned this! ha

    I have never thought to put oatmeal in my smoothies, great added fiber though! I’ll have to try that!

  16. I downloaded the song Angel Eyes, but I haven’t listened to the rest of the album! I’ll be sure to check it out

  17. I love adding oats to smoothies, makes it much thicker and filling!

    I don’t really have a favourite song right now, whatever is playing on the radio does me fine:)

  18. Ahh a huge bag of frozen fruit?? Finally, something I think I might actually have a need to buy at Costco! We have a membership but never ever use it.

  19. Smoothies rule in the summer 🙂

  20. That smoothie looks amazing! I love oats in my smoothie!!! I love country music too. We need to go to a concert in Nashville soon!

  21. I know Healthy Diva Katie uses oats in her smoothies a lot, I’ve done it once before having a blog but I used cooked oats – it was okay, I guess. Maybe I’ll try it again. But I’m not a fan of the coconut+almond milk, I actually prefer jut the almond. Everyone’s got their own preferences though 🙂

  22. Favorite album is the White Flag CD from the Passion Conference. I listen to that thing on repeat constantly in my car!! 🙂

  23. i’ve always wanted to try oatmeal in a smoothie! did it make it super creamy?

    my favorite songs as of late are Kenny Chesney “Come Over” and Luke Bryan “Drunk on you” 🙂

  24. Call Me Maybe is probably my favorite song right now… I didn’t hear it the whole week I was in Cancun and I started to have withdrawals!! Haha and I haven’t done the oatmeal in a smoothie thing either!

  25. You can’t taste it, but I swear it helps smoothies keep me fuller longer!

  26. that album is THE BEST!!! i downloaded it right before i left for vacation and it was on repeat all week. no joke. i love every single song!

Leave a Reply

